A Guide To Dealing With A DUI

Posted on: 9 April 2016

When you get pulled over by a police officer who suspects that you are driving under the influence, every decision you make from that moving forward is critical. Each state has its own set of laws that you must understand when it comes to drinking and driving. Read this guide in order to understand the legal ramifications of drinking and driving, as you also hire a lawyer to help.

The Limits You Must Follow 

Every state has specific codes that explain the blood alcohol content limits, which are in place to prevent DUI. You are responsible for understanding the laws, whether you're a resident or a person driving through the state. In most states, such as North Dakota, the legal limits for drinking and driving state that drivers 21 and over must adhere to the blood alcohol content of .08 percent

Other states also have extended DUI limits, such as .02 percent blood alcohol content for drivers who are not yet 21 years old. Other states practice zero tolerance for underage blood alcohol content. Further, commercial drivers often have lower limits -- such as .04 percent.

The Importance Of Getting Representation

You will need the assistance of a credible, licensed and insured DUI defense lawyer, so that you can either go for a plea bargain, acquittal or leniency in the sentencing guidelines. Your attorney will be by your side during the arraignment and will assist you, so that you're able to get protection and build evidence.  

The Legal Ramifications

The legal ramifications of a driving under the influence charge can be severe. You can go to jail, pay fines and lose your license when you are convicted of such an offense. 

For instance, in California, you may pay a $390 fine, spend 2 days in jail and lose your license for 90 days. In addition to these penalties, the courts can force you to install an interlock ignition device into your vehicle, which will prevent your car from starting until you take a breathalyzer test. A failed breathalyzer test on the interlock ignition device will automatically notify the authorities. Depending on your state, you might be able to plead to a lower, non-criminal charge called wet reckless driving. 

To get your life in order and avoid a criminal charge in the process, take this DUI information to heart as you seek legal advice from a professional. Visit http://www.vanblk.com for more information.